Until the Erasure Stops

I feel like I need to take a break from trying to make the world a better place. I feel like I can’t spend another day grabbing my anti-oppression hat and wading into a knee-deep pool of bullshit that permeates every space I don’t have complete and 100% control over. I feel like I will never be able to find another secondary(s) because, despite my best efforts, it always seems like the level of cissexism in my life is on the rise.

I feel like I’ve spent many, many hours on this blog trying to make the world just a tiny bit brighter. Now I guess it’s my turn to put the message out there that I feel like I need help too.

Comments on: "What does one do when they’re feeling trapped?" (2)

  1. I so know what you mean. Everyone I know winds up looking up to be for support.. and yet, I find so few places to look up to for myself. Yes, it’s nice that my online friends toss in their two cents of support.. but where are my role models? Where are the people I can look up to when I am feeling most vulnerable? If I find them, I’ll let you know… :(

    • I think people tend to look up to activists and bloggers for support precisely because other resources do not exist for many things. We are so very diverse and splintered because we can’t even agree on the nature of what we have in common. The truth is, trans pride is very difficult to develop these days, and I know I never had any until I found butch identity. I think we tend to hyperfocus on showing this strong, tough exterior as a movement. Maybe it’s time we turn inward a little and lick each other’s wounds.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

