Until the Erasure Stops

(Credit to http://whatever.scalzi.com/2010/10/18/things-i-dont-have-to-think-about-today/ for inspiring this post and to Lori Adorable for giving me the kick in the seat to look back at this blog)

This is a list of things I have to think about that not everybody does, and is meant to show what having privilege actually means.

1. Today, I have to think about whether the guy looking at my license will tell me it’s not me because I’m not a chick.

2. Today, I have to think about whether I’m going to be attacked just for trying to take a leak with people my own gender.

3. Today, I have to think about the fact that I won’t be able to get a job unless a psychiatrist can treat me.

4. Today, I have to think about whether it’s safe to hold my girlfriend’s hand or not.

5. Today, I have to think about whether my landlord will react to me having ritalin, or to it having my old name on it, more strongly.

6. Today, I have to think about how my next sexual partner will react when I disclose the status of my meat-shape to her.

7. Today, I have to think about whether my housemate can tell I’m trans, and whether it’s going to be a big deal

8. Today, I have to think about which to choose, food or medication

9. Today, I have to think about whether my teeth will hold up long enough for me to get them fixed

10. Today, I have to think about whether my partner’s body is going to make me dysphoric.

That’s a short list–but I’m going to come back and add more later, I think. At any rate, I just needed to put something out here–time for me to come out of retirement.

Comments on: "Things I Have to Think About Today" (2)

  1. As glad as I am that you’re blogging again, I’m so sorry you have to deal with this shit. Transmisogyny, homophobia, ableism, and classism are fucking awful. I hope you’re hanging in there all right.

    • I have been! I mean, I’ve been getting depressed about body stuff a lot lately. But my folks officially view my gender more legitimately than I do now, and I’m feeling well enough to start kicking some ass again. :D

      I know they suck, but I will admit I think about these things less now than when I was 17 and just coming out…so I’d say they’re sucking a little less every day.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

